Students are admitted to the French Department first and then apply during the second semester of the first year to participate in the Combined Program.

Coursework: Sixteen courses at the graduate level are required.  These correspond to the requirements of the Department of French and those of the Early Modern Studies Program.  Of the courses taken in French, one must be French 610 (Introduction to Old French), three others (elective) must fall within early modern periods (1350 to 1800) including one course outside of the department (History, History of Art, Music, Religious Studies, Philosophy, etc.). There are three required Early Modern Studies courses: EMST 700 (Workshop in Early Modern Studies), EMST 800 (Early Modern Colloquium); EMST 900, a prospectus workshop to be taken in the third year, is the final course counting toward the degree.

Language Requirement: Two languages appropriate to the field are required and can be satisfied in the variety of ways presented in Rules and Regulations and following the timeline outlined in the document. 

Qualifying Examination: An oral qualifying examination must take place as early as possible in the third year of study, before spring recess at the latest.  The examination will consist of five topics; at least three must be in the early modern field. 

Dissertation: A formal prospectus is to be presented by the end of the sixth semester (third year) of study.  The prospectus committee will consist of three faculty members, including the dissertation director(s) and at least one member in the field outside of French.   Once approved by the committee, the prospectus will be submitted to the graduate faculty of the Department of French for a vote on final approval and advancement to candidacy.  More than one dissertation adviser is permitted and indeed encouraged, but the principal adviser will normally be in the Department of French.  The official readers of the finished dissertation need not be members of the original prospectus committee but will include at least one member of the Department of French and one member of EMST.update this content